ICC Men's Cricket World Cup 2023

The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup or the ICC ODI World Cup is one of the biggest if not the biggest tournament in the game. The International Cricket Council (ICC) organises the ICC World Cup every four years. The latest edition of the tournament that is ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 is all set to take place in a few weeks.

ICC World Cup history:

The ICC Cricket World Cup began in 1975 and the inaugural edition of the tournament was hosted by England. England were the hosts for the second and third editions too. An ICC World Cup match consisted of 60 overs per team and was played with red-ball. All the players wore cricket whites and all the games were played during daytime.

In the first ICC Cricket World Cup edition, a total of 8 teams participated – England, Australia, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, West Indies, Sri Lanka and a composite team from East Africa. West Indies won the first ODI World Cup by beating Australia in the final.

West Indies won the second edition of the ICC Cricket ODI World Cup too before India prevented them from winning the third World Cup by beating them in the final at Lord’s. The World Cup was played outside England for the first time in 1987 when India and Pakistan co-hosted it. In that edition, the number of overs per innings in an ICC World Cup match was reduced to 50 from 60.

ICC Men's Cricket World Cup

Australia won the ICC ODI World Cup that year by beating England in the final. In 1992, the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup was held in in Australia and New Zealand and it saw the introduction of coloured clothing and day-night games. Pakistan won the competition as England lost another final. In 1996, India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka co-hosted the tournament and Sri Lanka won it by beating Australia in the final.

Australia won the next three editions of the ICC Cricket World Cup in 1999, 2003 and 2007 before India won the 2011 edition at home. India became the first team to win the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup on home soil before Australia and England followed suit in 2015 and 2019 respectively.

Australia are the most successful side in the history of the World Cup, having won it five times. The only other teams who have won the tournament more than once are West Indies (2) and India (2). Pakistan, Sri Lanka and England have won it once so far.

Winners of ICC World Cup list:

YearWorld Cup WinnerRunners Up
1975West IndiesAustralia
1979West IndiesEngland
1983IndiaWest Indies
1996Sri LankaAustralia
2007AustraliaSri Lanka
2011IndiaSri Lanka
2015AustraliaNew Zealand
2019EnglandNew Zealand

ICC Men’s World Cup 2023:

The latest edition of the ICC World Cup is the ICC Men’s World Cup 2023. The tournament is scheduled to be played from October 5 to November 19 in India. Having co-hosted the tournament thrice in the past, India will be hosting it alone for the very first time.

A total of ten teams will be participating in the upcoming ICC Men’s Cricket ODI World Cup 2023. As far as the format is concerned, a round-robin league stage will be followed by the knockouts. All 10 teams will compete against each other once in the round-robin stage. A team will earn two points for a win and one point in case of no-result. The top four teams will then make it to the semifinal before the winners of the semifinals will play the final.

ICC World Cup 2023 team list:

India (H)
New Zealand
South Africa
Sri Lanka

ICC World Cup 2023 venues:

The World Cup matches will be held across 10 venues. The opening game and the final of the tournament will be played at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad while the semifinals will take place in Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium and Kolkata’s Eden Gardens. Additionally, the warm-up matches will be held from 29 September to 3 October 2023 at Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Hyderabad, Assam Cricket Association Stadium in Guwahati, and Greenfield International Stadium in Thiruvananthapuram.


ICC World Cup 2023 schedule:

Here is the 2023 ICC World Cup match list:

Match NumberMatchesMatch DateMatch Time (IST)Venue
Match 1England vs New Zealand5-Oct2:00 PMAhmedabad
Match 2Pakistan vs Netherlands6-Oct2:00 PMHyderabad
Match 3Bangladesh vs Afghanistan7-Oct10:30 AMDharamsala
Match 4South Africa vs Sri Lanka7-Oct2:00 PMDelhi
Match 5India vs Australia8-Oct2:00 PMChennai
Match 6New Zealand vs Netherlands9-Oct2:00 PMHyderabad
Match 7England vs Bangladesh10-Oct10:30 AMDharamsala
Match 8Pakistan vs Sri Lanka10-Oct2:00 PMHyderabad
Match 9India vs Afghanistan11-Oct2:00 PMDelhi
Match 10Australia vs South Africa12-Oct2:00 PMLucknow
Match 11New Zealand vs Bangladesh13-Oct2:00 PMChennai
Match 12India vs Pakistan14-Oct2:00 PMAhmedabad
Match 13England vs Afghanistan15-Oct2:00 PMDelhi
Match 14Australia vs Sri Lanka16-Oct2:00 PMLucknow
Match 15South Africa vs Netherlands17-Oct2:00 PMDharamsala
Match 16New Zealand vs Afghanistan18-Oct2:00 PMChennai
Match 17India vs Bangladesh19-Oct2:00 PMPune
Match 18Australia vs Pakistan20-Oct2:00 PMBengaluru
Match 19Netherlands vs Sri Lanka21-Oct10:30 AMLucknow
Match 20England vs South Africa21-Oct2:00 PMMumbai
Match 21India vs New Zealand22-Oct2:00 PMDharamsala
Match 22Pakistan vs Afghanistan23-Oct2:00 PMChennai
Match 23South Africa vs Bangladesh24-Oct2:00 PMMumbai
Match 24Australia vs Netherlands25-Oct2:00 PMDelhi
Match 25England vs Sri Lanka26-Oct2:00 PMBengaluru
Match 26Pakistan vs South Africa27-Oct2:00 PMChennai
Match 27Australia vs New Zealand28-Oct10:30 AMDharamsala
Match 28Netherlands vs Bangladesh28-Oct2:00 PMKolkata
Match 29India vs England29-Oct2:00 PMLucknow
Match 30Afghanistan vs Sri Lanka30-Oct2:00 PMPune
Match 31Pakistan vs Bangladesh31-Oct2:00 PMKolkata
Match 32New Zealand vs South Africa1-Nov2:00 PMPune
Match 33India vs Sri Lanka2-Nov2:00 PMMumbai
Match 34Netherlands vs Afghanistan3-Nov2:00 PMLucknow
Match 35New Zealand vs Pakistan4-Nov10:30 AMBengaluru
Match 36England vs Australia4-Nov2:00 PMAhmedabad
Match 37India vs South Africa5-Nov2:00 PMKolkata
Match 38Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka6-Nov2:00 PMDelhi
Match 39Australia vs Afghanistan7-Nov2:00 PMMumbai
Match 40England vs Netherlands8-Nov2:00 PMPune
Match 41New Zealand vs Sri Lanka9-Nov2:00 PMBengaluru
Match 42South Africa vs Afghanistan10-Nov2:00 PMAhmedabad
Match 43Australia vs Bangladesh11-Nov10:30 AMPune
Match 44England vs Pakistan11-Nov2:00 PMKolkata
Match 45India vs Netherlands12-Nov2:00 PMBengaluru
1st Semi-FinalT.B.C. vs T.B.C.15-Nov2:00 PMMumbai
2nd Semi-FinalT.B.C. vs T.B.C.16-Nov2:00 PMKolkata
FinalT.B.C. vs T.B.C.19-Nov2:00 PMAhmedabad

ICC World Cup 2027:

The venue for the next ICC World Cup is already announced. The next ICC ODI World Cup is scheduled to take place in Africa. It is scheduled to be played in South Africa, Zimbabwe and Namibia in October and November 2027.

ICC World Cup 2023 – FAQs

How many times India hosted one day World Cup?

India have co-hosted the ICC Men’s ODI World Cup three times so far – 1987, 1996 and 2011. And in 2023, they will host the World Cup alone for the first time.

Who will lead India in 2023 World Cup?

Rohit Sharma will lead India in 2023 World Cup.

How many countries will play 2023 cricket World Cup?

10 teams will play in the 2023 cricket World Cup.

Read more on:- https://cricketaddictor.com/.

One Comment

Leave a Reply